• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

American chef in Spain

Amchefspain

Hi all. My name is Richard Stephens and thought I would introduce myself as I am new to the forum.  I am a retired American chef and have been living in Spain since 1964.

For more than 30 years I owned and cooked in a successful upscale restaurant in Madrid. Now that I am retired, I have moved from Madrid to a very small village in the mountains in the province of Guadalajara about a 2 hour drive from Madrid.

So I now no longer work my restaurant but still love to cook.

I am self taught so I come from the authentic Trial and Error Cooking Academy. During my career I have developed what I think are some very good original dishes. And as I have learned so much from so many, I am more than willing to share anything I know with anyone else.

Feel free to contact me about anything. I love to schmooze!!

• Like 4

Richard Stephens

Majaelrayo, Spain

Welcome Richard!  I have already replied to your inquiry about making quark.  

I'm retired too, never a chef but have been a life-long cooking and baking enthusiast and have experimented quite a bit with cheesemaking of various types.

I still make my own butter, sour cream, cream cheese, yogurt, with the occasional side trip into the more "exotic" dairy foods such as paneer, and of course the quark.

I went to baking school in the mid-50s (Dunwoodie in Minneapolis) and worked in my mom's bakery for a while but then got sidetracked into being an x-ray tech - which paid better, much better...