• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Changing Classification of Wine

palo

I'm not sure if this is happening all over, but it seems to be here in Ontario. Wines are being classified by "style" instead of geographic origin.

Is this being done to make wine more "accessible" or as a marketing tool? Is this being done elsewhere?

p

By "style" do you mean varietal? e.g. placing the words 'pinot noir' in a more prominent place on the label than 'a wine from Central Otago'? I'm no expert on wine, but isn't that basically standard practice for New World winemakers? In Australia, at least, there's no one to tell you that you're only supposed to make certain kinds of wine in certain ways in certain places. You can make whatever you like, wherever you like. You'll (probably) mention the region on the label--Margaret River, Yarra Valley, etc--but always in a less prominent spot than the varietal(s) of grapes that you used to make the wine.

Chris Taylor

Host, eG Forums - ctaylor@egstaff.org

I've never met an animal I didn't enjoy with salt and pepper.

Melbourne
Harare, Victoria Falls and some places in between

No..

I think he means..  sweet to dry  / lighter to bolder  /  white to red

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Classification_of_wine

If so,  then we have a few wine Boutiques  , that do this.

Personally  I'm thinking its marketing,  helps the novice /  drinkers

Cheers  Paul

Edited by Paul Bacino (log)

Its good to have Morels