• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

When to set a bar for a career title? Career Advice

o'rly

I am asking for advice on when to set a bar for a job and when enough is enough.  First off I do not believe in titles in the kitchen.  I scrub, do pots and pans, sweep, mop, put deliveries away, sign checks, do the schedule, enforce operating procedures, educate cooks, manage the kitchen, and there is nothing I do not do, even for front of the house operations.  I write menus, I design beautiful plates, I do food cost to the T. I open & close. I am a chef de cuisine?

I am not the chef/owner of the establishment, nor do I receive any accommodation to any representation of the work I do, but writing menus and giving my ideas for someone else to be using and taking credit for all while prepping all the fine touches and going over every station meticulously to be of great standards is driving me insane, almost literally.

I am asking for any advice on a career move with or without this situation.  I want to save money and build my own empire, and am writing my ideal business model, but I am just not there yet.  May I ask for advice on a salary of what to expect if you were to put out fine dining 12 course menus, catering and a volume restaurant of $4,000,0000/annually?  I am currently $20,000 below the average in my general area for my position and we are now one of the best restaurants in the city. How do I even ask for an amount that large to bring me up to par with my colleagues in a similar standard of living?