• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Unfashionable Dinner

jmacnaughtan

Hi,

I've decided that I'm going to host an unfashionable dinner party, replete with forgotten (but good) hits from the fifties, sixties and seventies.  Unfortunately, I have no first-hand experience of this era, and am looking for suggestions for dishes and drinks.

Here's a hazy first draft of the menu, but I'm still looking for suggestions and improvements:

Prawn cocktail

Vol-au-vents

Beef Stroganoff

Grand Marnier soufflé

Death by chocolate

and hopefully involving Madeira and claret.

Does anyone have any better suggestions, or even better, any good recipes?

Many thanks,

James

On arrival of your guests - Sherry, a choice between dry or medium cream!

Cape Town - At the foot of a flat topped mountain with a tablecloth covering it.

Some time ago we had Johnny Cash, Bob Hope and Steve Jobs. Now we have no Cash, no Hope and no Jobs. Please don't let Kevin Bacon die.

I was a kid, so my memory won't be perfect and my experiences were limited...

In the US, in the sixties, there was a huge craze for serving Beef Wellington. I can recall people using canned cream of mushroom soup & refrigerated crescent roll dough in versions created by ladies magazines. But Julia made it on an early episode of her TV show and America just went crazy for it.

I recall that flambeing was pretty popular in the sixties as well. I attended several dinner parties where everything served was flaming. Cherries jubilee and lobster bisque are all I can remember, though.