• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

What is most important in a cookbook?

Kakaroto

Hi! I'm a graphic design student currently working on a cookbook for one of my classes in University.

It's a cookbook in which it's shown what sort of meals are most appropriate for each age - from the womb onwards

I'd just like to gather some opinions as to what you guys find most important in cookbooks. How important are these things in a scale from 1 to 10?

Content and theme

Images

Book size and handling

Visuals (colours, typography, that kind of thing)

How the text is displayed on the page

Hi! I'm a graphic design student currently working on a cookbook for one of my classes in University.

It's a cookbook in which it's shown what sort of meals are most appropriate for each age - from the womb onwards

I'd just like to gather some opinions as to what you guys find most important in cookbooks. How important are these things in a scale from 1 to 10?

Content and theme

Images

Book size and handling

Visuals (colours, typography, that kind of thing)

How the text is displayed on the page

The most important by far is "do I want to eat that?" So content and theme by a million miles.

Clear instructions. 

Photos may help.

The graphics are perhaps initially attractive, but the keepers are the cookbooks with good recipes and clear instructions. 

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

Good tested recipes.

• Like 2

~Martin :)

I just don't want to look back and think "I could have eaten that."