• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Asian-style Master Stock

Hi everyone,

I am new to the forum. Looking for ways to ask all the asian cooking questions I have.

The first is this. I have a Masterstock recipe I want to try. Once I'm done, I plan to cool it, skim the fat, strain it and freeze it, with the hope I can develop it over a number of years.

Different recipes say different things as far as what to do when you bring it out.

Is it right bring the frozen masterstock to boil, add the aromatics (ginger, cassia bark, star ainise, rock sugar, orange peel) as well as the sauces (light soy, dark soy, shaoxing wine etc) again into the stock? Or do I just leave it?

Thanks!

Hi Joel and welcome.

Traditional Asian masterstocks are used every day adjusting the water level to a six litre mark and adding around 1 tbsp of dark soy and 2 tbsp of light soy. You would only adjust the aromatics every third day or so.

Given that you are freezing the stock, I'd adjust the same way but placing the freezing and thawing in the cycle as a component; that is, adjust the liquid and soy as normal and only adjust the aromatics every third use.

Good luck. 

Smithy, it is a traditional stock used for braising chicken, pork, beef, or fish. As it is used in an ongoing fashion, it gains flavour not only from the soy and aromatics (eg. cassia bark, star anise, cardamom, dried mandarin peel, garlic, ginger, etc) but also from the ingredients that are cooked in it. Some commercial kitchens are using masterstocks that have been in use for decades. 

• Like 2

Nick Reynolds, aka "nickrey"

"The Internet is full of false information." Plato
My eG Foodblog