• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Where to Get Cake Decoration Items?

aman23

Hi Guys,

I am an amateur baker. Looking to source some cake decoration edibles for my cakes and cupcakes. Would love to know where to source these from? I checked out ccds but, its super-expensive. I mean, I am open to paying extra for Wilton products, but since I am just starting out, looking at more pocket-friendly options.

Thanks! :)

King Arthur Flour carries colored sugars, sugar pearls, and a limited selection of seasonal decorations:  http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/ingredients/decorations

Fantes carries a wide array of cake decorating equipment, plus a small selection of decorating ingredients:  http://www.fantes.com/cake-decorating-ingredients.html

My local WalMart carries Cake Boss, Wilton, and another brand (can't remember which) of supplies, including paste colors, for reasonable prices.

Sur La Table has some good pastry items both online and in-store. The decoration items change seasonally. They are one of the few places you can actually see items in person. You may have an independent shop in your town, you'll need to do some sleuthing. Here in Phoenix, we have several local spots.

Okay Im really glad someone brought this up.

Japan and Australia have so much more than the USA does as far as cute cake decorating things. WHY?