• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Help - recipes needed for 50 people on tight budget

Bojana

I was asked to help with a project which brings volunteers in a communal kitchen to cook for homeless. They want me to come up with recipes. It should be main and dessert, no pork or alchohol and the budget is about $2.5 per person, in total $125. Location Amsterdam, Europe.

I am a good cook but have very little experience with such large quantities so I find it difficult to write recipes that will be used by various, often inexperienced cooks, when I have never done such things myself. For example, one time when i was cooking for the homeless, I let rice burn really badly because I had no clue that when you cook 4 kg of rice in one huge pan, you have to stir it.

It would really help me if experienced cooks share few of their recipes, including all the quantities and maybe few tips to help less experienced cooks to execute it.

The kitchen has many large pots, few pans and one large oven. The dishes will be kept au bain marie during service for approx 2 hours.

Thanks in advance! ANy questions, let me know 

The first things that come to mind are a chili, or Indian dishes based on lentils or chickpeas. A chana masala would be cheap, vegetarian, easy to make in giant pots, and packed with flavor.

Bulk dessert is a bit of a challenge. Maybe a giant cobbler?

Notes from the underbelly

Just to be clear, I do not need ideas only, I need the actual scaled recipes and if possible with some instructions to avoid typical home cook mistakes - recipes will be used by loads of different home cooks who volounteer.