• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Food Startup Idea

jessicahowles

Hi guys, I am a programmer who loves food a lot and I am thinking of working on a food recipe website.

My idea is to create a website which indexes and categorizes recipes from the Internet. I want to provide better recipe search results and recommendations based on users’ preferences (I use Google currently but I feel there is much room for improvement.)

I would like to know what you guys think about the idea and whether it is something you would like. And do you have any features that you always wanted in a recipe website? Thanks again!

P.S. When I get something going, is anyone interested in beta testing for me?

There are already a lot of apps out there for recipes. The websites with the actually good, test-kitchen tested, recipes already have their own apps, and they own the copyright to those recipes.

Other sites rely on 'user' reviews of recipes which means that there is a lot of review padding by friends, relatives, and possibly hundreds of alternate identities of the original author. -Not to mention everyday housewives who think you can sub Kool-Aid for fresh squeezed OJ in a recipe.

What I want in a website is pretty much what ATK, Food & Wine, Epicurious, etc. already provide: recipes tested by thousands of reliable testers, weight based measurement of dry goods, and reviews by professional reviewers.

Thanks for the feedback Lisa!