• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Creative ways of teaching cookery

My name is Josh and I'm an architecture masters student currently studying in Canterbury, England, UK. I'm doing a design and research project (only theoretical) into how unemployed people within our community could be retrained in cookery to learn valuable new skills and become integral figures in their community. I was wondering if anyone has any fun ideas of how you think people could be taught cookery in unconventional ways….

This is purely speculative research and doesn't have to be practical in any way (I'm not worried about cost, space required etc) I'm just interested in ways that cookery has never been taught before. I want to look into experiences that people could have on their cookery school journey. Here are some examples I've come up with so far that would be fun….

Survival cookery…

Groups of students enter an area designed to look like an area of ancient woodland, smells of the woods and various fruit and vegetable smells are pumped into the space and gradually the students realise that there is food living all around them, vegetables, fruits, animals. All they are given is a rucksack with sleeping equipment. Their challenge is to create delicious meals from the food they find around them. If they want they can use meat but it's running around so they'll have to catch it first! How many people would still choose meat over vegetables if they had to kill it first? This activity raises ethical questions as well as making students use ingredients they may have not chosen unless forced to in order to survive.

Flavour identification..