• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Ceramic Knives

liuzhou

My favourite kitchen knife died last night. Snapped right across the tang. But it has served well. A suitable dignified exit ceremony shall be held. With full honours. It has chopped many a fine meal.

But now I need a replacement. I was wandering through the relevant stores today and, to be honest, their selection isn't great. But a couple were pushing their ceramic ranges. I decided to postpone purchase.

Many, many years ago I had a pair of ceramic scissors and they were cool. I worked in the recording industry and cutting magnetic tape (those were the days) with metal scissors wasn't helpful.

So, I thought to ask you guys for your opinions. Ceramic knives? Yes? No? Reservations?

(My initial impression was that they felt a bit too light for their dimensions.)

Edited by liuzhou (log)

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

Sharp, but not resilient/strong is my impression. Fine for slicing tomatoes or delicate fish, but not great as a general purpose hacking, thumping, smashing, or heavy chopping knife. I need the weight of the knife to assist me with some jobs, and ceramic knives just don't deliver sufficient heft.

I can get them really cheap but the fragility automatically rules them out. While wishing it were otherwise the kitchen is just not the place for ceramic knives until they will be able to withstand the abuse a traditional metal knife does.

I have a couple of ceramic knives for a while. Never liked them.