• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Where to take daughter in Chicago?

aidensnd2

Heading to Chicago with my 13 year old daughter for a few days in November. She's a 'beginning' foodie. Loves GOOD steak, Kobe/Wagyu, Asian, Italian, and Pizza but not into offal or anything funky... She can definitely appreciate good food though. I was a high end pastry chef for many years so she also has a good eye for pastries/desserts.

We will be visiting the aquarium and staying somewhere nearby. Any help would be great as I haven't been to Chicago in years...

Thanks in advance!

Dan

If you find yourself in or near The Loop (Art Institute, Chicago Cultural Center, Theater District, Millenium Park, etc.), Toni Patisserie and Café is a wonderful place for lunch.

There are endless debates about Chicago steak houses. Based on my very limited experience with them, I can recommend Keefer's.

Jose Garces's Mercat a la Planxa is a fun tapas place.

"There is no sincerer love than the love of food."  -George Bernard Shaw, Man and Superman, Act 1

"Imagine all the food you have eaten in your life and consider that you are simply some of that food, rearranged."  -Max Tegmark, physicist

Gene Weingarten, writing in the Washington Post about online news stories and the accompanying readers' comments: "I basically like 'comments,' though they can seem a little jarring: spit-flecked rants that are appended to a product that at least tries for a measure of objectivity and dignity. It's as though when you order a sirloin steak, it comes with a side of maggots."