• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Need some direct advice on knives, cookware, and utensils.

Eyeage

Hello Everyone!

Please forgive me, as I really haven't started digging through the site yet. I have a few questions and google hasn't been able to solve my issues (at least not directly, it did lead me here). So, here's a little background and I'll dive right into it.

I'm a novice cook. I do like cooking, and I do it fairly okay (people eat my food and say yum). That said, I couldn't tell you what "cuts" are what, and I couldn't tell you when to use them. I can't really tell you what types of pans you're supposed to use when, etc. As you can see I need a LOT of help. However, I am working to improve myself, and have tossed around the idea of taking some classes.

So, on to the issue at hand. My wife and I just got married 2 weeks ago. We have pretty much crap in our kitchen. We have some old T-fal pots and pans (wal-mart style), Farberware knife set (wal-mart), cheap plates (wal-mart, seeing a trend?), cheap utensils (yep, you guessed it). The list goes on. Basically everything we have is from wal-mart or target. I have one decent knife: This.

With that said, we have decent amount of money to spend at Bed Bath and Beyond (I understand there are better places to shop, but it's where our "credit" is). We have about $1000 worth of a store credit from our wedding. I would like to see how people think we should spend it. I have a few ideas, but I have no clue as to what I'm doing. I hate being an uneducated consumer, and so I turn to you and ask for your help.