• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Dragon's beard candy

daekkyn

Anyone heard of dragon's beard candy?

Well it is a traditional china hand-pulled candy which looks like spun sugar, but made very differently. The technique is similar to noodle making, you start with a torus, you expand it, double it, expand, double, etc... the number of strands increases exponentially in powers of 2 (I'm a computer scientist, I love powers of 2) and can go up to 16384.

I've discovered this candy on Dave Arnold's blog where you can find a detailed video of the recipe.

I tried the recipe a few times and I think it is very fun to do. The first times were highly unsuccessful, but you quickly get better.

I followed the recipe of Dave Arnold's

(more or less), it was impossible to find corn syrup in Switzerland, I therefore replaced it with glucose syrup which has the same property of preventing crystallization.

The temperature 133°C (271°F) is extremely important, if you overshoot, the candy puck will be rock hard. As I was doing small quantities (100g of sugar) and I only have a medium size pan, it was a nightmare to stick my thermometer sufficiently deep in the sugar.

I used silicon molds to shape the puck, here are some results:

Transferring the molten sugar to the molds: DSC_9398.JPG

The cooled puck: DSC_9402.JPG

Forming the stands (I never manage to create equal sized stands, there are always some thicker strands): DSC_9422.jpgDSC_9423.jpg

As I don't like peanuts, I replaced the filling with chocolate: DSC_9427.jpg