• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Greetings from Finland

Hi there! I am writing from Finland. I would be interested if there is any that is at the forum and in neighborhood countries of Finland, Scandinavia? I am a home mother for three foster children and now having some months brake for trying to organize our children's school and health things little further. I am studying to be a professional in cake decorating and baking, is it a Confectionist or Pastry chef in English? Maybe Confectionist or does that relate in primarily those making hand made chocolate? Oh sorry, I am not so sure about these in English. I participated Finland's most famous place for little more than a year and oh boy it was an experience! Never done so hard physical work in so fast rhythm and so delicately tiny four petit's, than there. I had zero experience when going in and I could manage right most of the handmade products done there, when leaving. I was meant to be staying there for 2 years and continue working there as a professional after graduation, but our foster children ans my whole family would not stretch so much. I just had to decide that my children won't be able to hold on any longer, it's not their job. Yea, I am a passionate with cakes, baking and decorating stuff. I am not very skilful, in my own eyes, since I have seen the top of Finnish Cake Art, but I am constantly trying to enhance it. Anyway, if you have got a baking passion problem, when staying in Finland or nearby North European cities, I am eager to help. And yes, this is my fist posting to here. And Yes, I am a Finn, I lived with my husband 4 months at USA, Maryland, College Park when I wa