• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Masala Masala Masala

metea

Hello. I'm very new to Indian cooking and I'm trying to wrap my head around all these different "masalas" that I see in different recipes. I'm aware that a masala is going to differ from household to household, but surely there are some general rules that apply?

Garam Masala

Sambar Masala

Chole masala

Chat Masala

Chana Masala

The list goes on...

Are there any guidelines to what typically goes in these? Or when to use which mix?

Are "curry powder" and "garam masala" generally used interchangeably?

I'm very enthusiastic about making my own masalas but I'm a bit overwhelmed and don't know where to begin.

Thank you.

As I understand it, "masala" roughly translates to "spice mix." Curry powder and garam masala may share some components, but are very different in flavor.

I found Julie Sahni's Classic Indian Cooking a great place to start to understand Indian cuisine, including its ingredients and techniques.

I've long been a fan of Madhur Jaffrey's recipes and have several of her books.

However, I also have 660 Curries by Raghavan Iver and he has included explanations of the various spice mixtures calles massalas and how and why they are used and when to use them.

Knowing and understanding the principles behind the use of a particular combination of spices has made preparing these dishes more interesting for me.

Fortunately you can look inside this book and see how it is presented and get a better idea if it will work for you.