• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

What makes you want to return?

As restaurant owners and chefs we are always curious about what makes a guest become a regular.

Everyone has an opinion. We want to know what makes people think "I have got to come back here- and soon"

As a chef I would love to think that it is the food first but I believe that this is an illusion. When you are treated as a special person in a professional and comfortable environment - no matter how much $ you are spending, I believe that mistakes with food, drink and service can be overlooked.

I think that this brings people back more than great food. We always think of dinner hours as a performance in which most people are not very forgiving of errors. However, it depends on a restaurants commitment to service and how well one can turn around a negative occurence and surprise and exceed a guests expectation. This does not always involve buying the world for a table if there is a mistake. Sometimes it can be as simple as letting a table know that the manager is involved with making things right.

What are your thoughts?

Michael and Diane

I return to a restaurant because of the food. Sometimes the philosophy behind the food is so agreeable to me that I'll keep on returning to a place even if the food is sometimes uneven because when it's good, it's exactly what I want to eat (and probably it tastes good to me because of the philosophy behind the cooking); also, I'll go back to that place, even though sometimes uneven, because I want to support it.