• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Apprentice dealing with pastry chef

Almondmeal

Dear Pastry chefs out there,

Today, I was given an important job to laminate croissant dough. And as an utterly inexperienced apprentice, I am not sure if what I just did at work would hear my chef's furious bellow tomorrow when they see the baked croissant in the morning. This is what happened, as I was told to laminate the dough with the butter, I realized that the butter was a little bit too soft, hence, I put them back in the fridge, but barely long enough for it to stiffen up a little. But because my chef wanted me to hurry up and finish the job, I reluctantly had to make do with the soft butter. As I folded the dough over the butter and rolling them through the roller machine, I realized that there were bits of butter uncovered by the dough which to my logic, would mean that the dough are not properly laminated which means that when they are baked, there would be parts without dough but only butter and probably means an uneven lift. This appearance are still visible even after I;ve done the Third fold but had to wrap them up and store in the blast chiller until the night chef comes in to make the croissant for bake off tomorrow morning. I am wreck nervous and I am hoping if someone out there could tell me if this would immensely affect the outcome when the dough are proofed and baked. I really want to just keep my job! Anyone out there?

It's hard to know with out seeing it. My guess is that as long as the chef getting the dough is experienced and show through is not too much you'll be okay. Be confident, chefs can smell fear :wink: