• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Excited to be at eGullet

Even though we have been discussing Chinese cooking all week, today marks the official start of my Q & A. I just wanted to invite all of you to keep asking questions and give you some ideas about my particular areas of interest and expertise (and those where I have much to learn).

I know the most about how to make delicious food. Cooking techniques, food marketing, equipment, and recipes are all areas where I am strong. I have a lot of New York centric knowledge. Chinese food stores, restaurants, the different Chinatowns, the history of the US Chinese food industry over the last 30 years are other areas we could get into.

Unfortunately while I have traveled a lot I haven't lived all over the world. So if you start to ask about a particular place, I may or may not have familiarity with it.

Please don't forget that I am Jewish boy from Brooklyn whose grandmother made blintzes and matzoh balls, not fish balls and rice noodles. Sometimes there are areas of a cultural nature that I simply can't relate to because we celebrated Thanksgiving not The Dragon Boat Festival.

In any event, it's exciting to be here and I look forward to developing new relationships with those of you with similar passions and interests.

To the eGullet community: thanks for your participation. I hope to hear from you. Please take advantage of our new relationship. You're welcome to contact me by posting to the web site or email (when appropriate), and talk about anything.

Warm regards, Ed