• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

distil.

Chefb28

I think it's just Distill.

True rye and true bourbon wake delight like any great wine...dignify man as possessing a palate that responds to them and ennoble his soul as shimmering with the response.

DeVoto, The Hour

• 4 weeks later...

chefb28,

distil. is still set to open in Milwaukee. My name is Ira Koplowitz. Myself and Nick Kosevich are putting together the cocktail and spirit program for distil. and will be running the bar once it is open. I recently moved to Milwaukee from Chicago where I worked as a bartender and a manager the Violet Hour for the last two years. Nick moved to Milwaukee from Minneapolis where he was the bar manager at the Town Talk Diner. You can get more information on us at our website, bittercube.

As of now, we don't have a set opening date, but things are moving along fairly quickly. If you have any questions please feel feel to email us or post here. We will definitely keep the eGullet community up to date on our progress.

ira

Very exciting, and in MKE, my old stomping grounds (UWM grad school).

From the Journal Sentinel:

Part apothecary, part experimental kitchen - a craft cocktail lounge is planned for downtown, and two of the region's noted muddlers and shakers are involved in it.

Named distil, the lounge's specialty will be pre-Prohibition and other classic cocktails with a modern twist at 722 N. Milwaukee St., said Nick Kosevich. It's the previous site of the nightclub Three. Kosevich is a managing partner along with Noah Heaney, and the owner is Michael Polaski.