• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Need help making my first Pork Roast

anthonylee86

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to E-Gullet. I have been lurking for a while but recently got a really nice pork roast and some bone-in chops and country style ribs. I have plenty of different hot peppers and some basic cooking supplies and skills. I am just looking for some ideas as I am hoping to cook this tomorrow.

I have a 3 1/2 lb Loin End Roast I bought on sale as well as some bone-in Center Cut Pork Chops. I am looking to expand my cooking skills and am looking for some ideas on how to cook these. I live in a small apartment so only have a range and oven available. I am just wondering if I should brine first, roast or braise, brown first or not?

I am just looking for ideas on how to cook these items. Any help is appreciated.

Hi, Anthony! Welcome.

Can you tell us about your pork? Supermarket pork (no shame there whatsoever) or something from a more exotic source? The difference usually manifests itself in marbling, and that matters when giving cooking advice.

Dave Scantland
Executive director
dscantland@eGstaff.org
eG Ethics signatory

Eat more chicken skin.

Hi, Anthony! Welcome.

Can you tell us about your pork? Supermarket pork (no shame there whatsoever) or something from a more exotic source? The difference usually manifests itself in marbling, and that matters when giving cooking advice.

Just supermarket pork from a sale at Giant Eagle this week

My advice:

- Brine it for 48 hours.

- Coat the top with a heavy coat of Dijon mustard with chopped sage. (preferably fresh sage, but dried will do.)