• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Fruit Pie Fillings

LuckyGirl

I've been diddling around with making pies for the last 6 months. I'm very happy with where I'm at as for as crust making goes. I'm also pretty happy with the fruit fillings I've made thus far this summer.

This week I started thinking about the different ways to thicken fruit pies and I would like to know what folks have found works for them, what thickening agent they prefer and why.

I have found that for an apple pie I get the best results with flour and then a few pads of butter on top of the apple filling before the top crust goes on. I have found that when I forget the butter, the filling does not thicken quite as much with only the flour.

Mostly for fruit fillings I've been using cornstarch and with good results but this week I tried tapioca. While I very much like the texture the tapioca gives I don't like the way some of the bits remain soft little bubbles and don't actually "dissolve".

Today I started wondering about arrowroot. How is that for a fruit filling thickener?

What are your preferred thickening agents? Do you use a different agent with different fruits?

Aslo, is there a "master" pie thread that I might want to consult?

I like Instant ClearJel, which I order from King Arthur Flour. It thickens my fruit pies nicely and stays clear. Cooks Illustrated turned me on to it--they tested several thickeners and it's the one they liked best.

MaryMc

Seattle, WA

When I started experimenting with pies, I used what the recipe said to use. I found that I do not like using flour, as some recipes call for, because the taste never quite cooks out.