• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

The Thanksgiving Bread Basket

Abra

I'm an experienced bread baker, but here's a thing I've never tried. I think the absolutely best rolls for Thanksgiving are these Buttery Pan Rolls. But this year, in my kitchen in France, I only have one oven and not enough time or counter space to make these at the last minute, as I usually do.

Could I form and butter the rolls, wrap tightly, and freeze? Then let them thaw and rise before baking? How much time do you think the thaw/rise would take? I'm guessing about 4 hours.

I know, baking bread in France is totally coals to Newcastle, but I'm having a dozen people for their first Thanksgiving, and these rolls are so typically American and so not French.

I'm an experienced bread baker, but here's a thing I've never tried.  I think the absolutely best rolls for Thanksgiving are these Buttery Pan Rolls.  But this year, in my kitchen in France, I only have one oven and not enough time or counter space to make these at the last minute, as I usually do.

Could I form and butter the rolls, wrap tightly, and freeze?  Then let them thaw and rise before baking?  How much time do you think the thaw/rise would take?  I'm guessing about 4 hours.

I know, baking bread in France is totally coals to Newcastle, but I'm having a dozen people for their first Thanksgiving, and these rolls are so typically American and so not French.