• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Savor Craft Beer

I'll be in DC for the Savor Craft Beer fest this weekend and being a first timer to the area, need some help on where to eat. I'm a chef who appreciates local, inexpensive, non-tourist places, preferably with a real emphasis on beer over wine. Cuisine is not important. The event is at the Mellon auditorium and am staying at the Liaison Capitol Hill. Walking distance is a must! Any recs or links would be appreciated!

Thanks!

RM

I was going to say Beck, as well, but you also might want to stroll a few blocks from the Foggy Bottom metro to Pizzaria/Birarria Paradiso. Opinions on the pizza vary somewhat but the beer cellar is well regarded. Make sure you go to the one on M Street, not the one on P Street, which does not have the same beer program.

Also, either the Brickskeller (Dupont Circle Metro) or RFD (Metro Center) can offer a massive variety of beers. No one ever went to either place for the food, I think, but any beer lover should consider a pilgrimage to The Brick, which was -- at one point -- in the Guinness Book for its beer selection and was a big, early backer of the craft movement. Fact, you could have a couple of beers there and then re-acquire your thirst walking down to Paradiso.

I'm on the pavement

Thinking about the government.