• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Please 'splain this yeast proofing method to me

pax

I have use of my husband's grandmother's and mother's cookbooks, antiques all, and I found a recipe for "Pain Ordinaire" in a book from 1948 that had me make a "sponge" of yeast, boiled water and flour kneaded into a ball, which was then scored and placed in more boiled water until the ball floated, upon which you mix in the rest of the ingredients and its then handled exactly like any bread recipe.

I'd like to understand this better, I have never seen this before but I'm not a real chef, I am just an amateur eater.

The crackle when I cut this loaf was like a gunshot, and I just baked it in my Joe Homeowner JennAire.

“Don't kid yourself, Jimmy. If a cow ever got the chance, he'd eat you and everyone you care about!”

So the water ... it is boiled and then cooled to room temperature before adding yeast/flour, or are you adding yeast and flour to water that boiled and is still at/near the boiling temperature?

All strains of yeast start to succumb at around 130 deg F, so I can't imagine that adding yeast to water this is close to 212 deg F would last very long.

Flickr: Link

Instagram: Link

Twitter: Link

gfron, thank you, that made for interesting reading. I appreciate the link, I had no idea what it was called. I have a loaf of very finely crumbed, almost cake-y bread with an extraordinarily crackly crust. It's quite good. I think I will try this recipe without the levain (if that is indeed what I had, since I too used cultivated yeast) and see what differences show up.