• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Heading to Disneyland and San Diego

aidensnd2

The family and I are heading down to southern California for a week at Disneyland and some time in San Diego. I'm hoping to get some good recommendations for family friendly places to eat. Nothing chainy, perhaps some Italian, wood fired pizza, Chinese, Japanese, bakeries, dessert places etc.. The kids are well behaved in restaurants and we like good food so I suppose family friendly more in the way of not too expensive or fancy schmancy. I'm a pastry chef so good desserts are always appreciated...

Any help would be great as we have no clue about the food scene down there.

Thanks in advance.

Hi!

When in San Diego, where will you be based,

and how long (time) are you willing to travel for food?

I like Andiamo in Tierra Santa for Italian, and they do pizza too. Very family friendly, casual clothes just fine, but a nice place for a grownup celebration meal as well. They straddle the line very gracefully. This is where I first had gnocchi with browned butter and sage. The current menu is here:Andiamo Menu.

Tierra Santa is aneighborhood a few miles east of San Diego proper - maybe 15-20 minutes drive time from downtown.

If you search Kalypso's posts, you'll find chapter and verse on the best Mexican food in the area.