• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Touched by a Waiter

Sabrosita

Why do some waiters insist on punctuating their service with touching the customer. A light brush here or a pat on the back their, why does it freak me out? Anyone else?

I just wrote about my recent dinner which prompted this topic (see below) but really I would love to hear how other people feel about this.

http://thegastrognome.wordpress.com/2008/0...-touching-meal/

Gnomey

The GastroGnome

(The adventures of a Gnome who does not sit idly on the front lawn of culinary cottages)

I am not a touchy person. However since starting to work in the industry as a cook I find myself touching people all of the time. It's a habit borne out of cramped quarters and the need to inform people of where I am in relation to them. A lot of times yelling "behind you" isn't nearly as functional as a lightly placed hand on the back when passing by. So, this creeps into my non-professional life in a variety of ways: walking through crowds in a store (again, cramped space and not wanting to be backed into or bumped by someone who doesn't know I'm there), taking the dog for a walk and passing someone on the sidewalk (though that is more of a "behind you" moment), and most amusing to my wife, saying "open oven" at home when it's just the two of us and she's nowhere near it. I think we become inured to this behavior within ourselves and don't even realize that we're doing it.

It does surprise a lot of strangers though!

Bryan C. Andregg

"Give us an old, black man singing the blues and some beer. I'll provide the BBQ."