• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Markets and affordable restaurants in Canberra?

I just found out I'm going to be in Canberra for the month of August for work, and am in the midst of searching for a place to live, etc. I'm going to try to find a place with kitchen access. Does anyone have suggestions about local markets and local foods I shouldn't miss? Along those lines, I'm a student on a budget, and will probably be working like crazy while I'm there, but would love restaurant recommendations as well.

Thanks!

I just found out I'm going to be in Canberra for the month of August for work, and am in the midst of searching for a place to live, etc. I'm going to try to find a place with kitchen access.  Does anyone have suggestions about local markets and local foods I shouldn't miss? Along those lines, I'm a student on a budget, and will probably be working like crazy while I'm there, but would love restaurant recommendations as well.

Thanks!

There are loads of affordable restaurants (ie, low budget) in Canberra, especially in Civic and Dickson. In fact, Canberra is such a disappointment at the other end of the scale that you can be thankful for a good international student population! As I was only there briefly, I'm afraid specific names escape me, but perhaps someone else will come to the rescue.

The farmers' market is very good, held in the far north of the city.

-- lamington a.k.a. Duncan Markham

The Gastronomer's Bookshelf - collaborative book reviews about all things food and wine

Syrup & Tang - candid commentary and flavourful fancies

"It's healthy. It's cake. It's chocolate cake."

• 2 weeks later...