• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Chef seeking post-illness advice

xochi74

I am a recently graduated culinary student.

I have been ill for 14 months with AIDS, Cancer, Pneumonia, and when things were looking good, Appendicitis.

It has been an uphill battle. Yet I drove on, I had to. I must be a chef dammit!

I never gave up on graduation. I had to just finish my general education courses, and focus on healing.

Upon graduation a new restaurant hotel in my city hired me.

The place is full of alumni from Alinea, the French Laundry, Craft (NYC) and numerous top haunts in the five state region.

I am honored to be included in this cast of 30 out of 600 applicants.

Prior to my illness I worked for a local French Restaurant, and did a great job holding my own.

Post Illness:

I realized that the simplest tasks: making perfect brunoise took me forever, that I move like a snail, that I am taking a mélange of supplement/medications, to get back in the fold.

Health wise I am 75% percent there; having been out of practice, my basics require a review.

I pulled out the books, started studying ahead.

I took it upon myself to write my boss a letter, detailing my own concerns. He cried. I had reminded him of a friend of his who had passed on.

I was touched, and at once he had my loyalty. This guy is a genius. I am learning so much in regards to MG techniques.

He told me he was going to treat me like everyone else. Sink or swim.

So be it. I believe in Meritocracy.

With all the chaos of opening a new restaurant, we are daily making huge improvements.

I come to work knives sharp. A bain marie full of spoons, fish spats, et al, a mélange of pans.