• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Newbie Needs Menu Help

davidshap

Hi eGullet,

This is my first post, and I'm a newbie chef. I've been taking recipes from epicurious.com, and I often find a main course that I want to make but have no idea what side dishes to pair with it. How do you decide what to make (similar ingredients or something?). I haven't bought any recipe books yet; do those tend to pair mains with sides?

Thanks for the help.

This might not be the most glamorous or gourmet advice, but I often limit my search for recipes on epicurious (and other sites) to ones with pictures, since there is often a side or two included in the picture even if there aren't suggestions in the actual recipe text. Many cooking magazines also include a page near the front that offer suggestions for combining recipes in the current issue in addition to suggestions they might make in the intro notes to the recipe itself. Fine Cooking is one, I know, and Cooking Light (which is, to be honest, not one of my favorites) almost always has (had?) a section on everyday meals that includes sides.

I also read restaurant menus (lots of places post theirs online these days), particularly if I'm cooking something I've never cooked before, to see what a professional would pair with a particular meat or fish.