• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Cook what you know....

Mikeb19

Anyhow, as the Christmas season is over, and now the restaurant is closing in January, I've got time to contemplate stuff... And I was thinking about my career thus far, and some of the cooks I've worked with.

One thought that came to mind reading some posts about restaurant experiences and unsuccessful dishes, is that chefs really shouldn't try to cook over their heads... Chefs who don't know about a certain style of cuisine shouldn't attempt to be serving dishes from that style.

I remember one chef I worked for when I was an apprentice wanted to have perogies (varenyky) on the menu, but he had never made them (and probably never tasted good ones) before (and he was a super-talented French chef). He went through several unsuccessful attempts, until I just ended up making them myself (being half Ukrainian and VERY familiar with the cuisine).

Another is pastries - alot of chefs don't have the proper training, and simply can't execute their ideas. I worked at several restaurants as a pastry chef, and inherited some pretty weak menus. At one, they had no clue how to make iced creams or sorbets (iced creams had bad texture and taste, sorbets were very icey), not to mention they didn't have the proper storage. When I started, after tasting all the stuff I inherited, I promply got rid of everything I could, and started over.