• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Honeysuckle White turkey--Did I commit a crime?

sus

Im a grad student and wanted so badly to purchase one of the Kosher Turkey's from Trader Joes but sadly they seemed a bit over my budget and too small for the amount of people I think will attend this party (grad students Thanks Giving Pot luck). Soooo I purchased a Honeysuckle White 15 pounder. It is still frozen and thawing in the fridge right now. I hope that by Tomorrow eve or Wed. am it is ready for seasoning and such. My concern is that I have committed a cook's crime by purchasing Honeysuckle and not a fresh turkey, yada yada. The reason I selected Honeysuckle was because it was cheap but also because I remember someone on egullet said they had used this turkey once with very good results. Any thoughts, ideas, suggestions on how to turn this turkey into a masterpiece despite its humble beginnings? Do I need to brine or salt? The ingredients in the turkey say they include salt and sugar and water so im thinking the turkey is basted already but I am not 100% sure.

I truly appreciate your helps as this is the second time I make a turkey (the first time I was working for corporate America and purchased a Empire that to be honest truly did not impress me.)

Thanks so much!

So far here is what I have planned to do: Use one of Cook's Illustrated roasting method but from what I gleaned here cover the turkey in a cheesecloth with oil and butter. I also read elsewhere that keeping placing a oven safe bowl full w. water helps retain the moisture. I AM stuffing the turkey w. a plantain stuffing (to give it my Puerto Rican touch)