• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

The Pork Skin Topic

Habeas Brulee

I have some pork skin sitting in my fridge, left over from setting up some pancetta to cure. I've never tried working with pork skin before - what can I do with it?

Someone suggested chocolate covered pork rinds, but I don't even know how to make pork rinds. I tried searching the archives, with no luck. Can anyone explain how to make pork rinds, or link me to a good recipe?

And in the interest of creating a good resource here for all eGulleters -

What else can you do with pork skin?

Let's bring together all inspiration, ideas, and recipes for cooking with pork skin, here in this thread as a single resource!

Thank you, everyone!

Make cassoulet! Either use it to line your cassole pot, or cut it into small cubes and let it melt into the sauce. It's delicious! You can see one I did recently here. The pork skin is a key element for a smooth and melting texture.

Here is a Filipino pork rind chicharon. We also use puffed pork rind as a garnish for Pansit Luglug and Pansit Palabok. Crushed pork rind is also used to thicken a sweet & sour, pork and liver stew called, Paksiw.

edited to add: Pansit is a general term for noodles. In this case both these dishes, "Pansit" refers to rice noodles.

Edited by Fugu (log)

I used diced pork rind (and shredded oven baked pork belly, ginger, some soy?) as a filling for duck leg roulades. There was no particular though behind that but rather what I had at hand. Worked great though, the pork rind melted and gave a nice taste/texture to the filling.