• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Is it "What's In the Glass" That Counts?

Rebel Rose

As many of us know from perusing other wine forums and from conversations with friends, some people just don't want to know how the wine in their bottle got there. All they care about is it's perceived "quality."

As a producer, I think that's sad. It's like going to farmers' market and telling the vendor, "I don't care how you grow your **&^ strawberries," or "I don't care about where the )(*^^ mushrooms are foraged!" "Just give me what I want!"

I get this weird, emotionally knee-jerk response, like a shudder of revulsion.

After all, we baby our vines and wines into adulthood throughout the seasons. To us, each and every vintage is different, each vineyard is unique, and each wine has a back story.

For that very reason, perhaps I am out of touch with market sensibilities. Why do I bother to tell the story of Dusi Vineyard on our blog and on our website? Why do I bother to tell customers funny or enlightening stories about winemaking and grape growing?

Maybe, the next time a customer comes in and wants to chat about the vineyards, I'll just step back and say, "You tell me. It's what's in the glass that counts."

Mary Baker

Solid Communications

Find me on Facebook

Well, this may help you with a perspective. I myself only visit wineries whose wines I like. And, I go to great lengths (and distances) to visit. I like to hear all about their wines and their winemaking and I like to visit the vines and the cellar.