• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

A Drink to Test a Bartender

TAPrice

I'll preface this by saying that I'm new to cocktails. I only started seriously mixing drinks at home over the summer.

Recently I've been updating some nightlife listings for a guidebook. Wanting to get a better handle on the drinks served, I've tried to order a cocktail that will help me quickly judge the talent behind the bar.

My choice has been a Manhattan. Here's my thinking:

1) Every bar has the necessary ingredients. Yes, I love to see fresh juices and such, but I figure that a competent bartender could be working at a place too cheap to buy fruit.

2) It's a drink that people do order and every bartender knows. No need to explain the drink and it's ingredients.

3) It's not complicated. Only two ingredients (three if you add bitters, but that's asking for the moon). In my limited knowledge of mixology, it seems like balance is the mark of skill. This drink is about correctly balancing (or measuring) two elements.

4) The garnish is well-established and, again, something that every bar should have on hand.

5) I can see if they chill the drink properly and serve it in a cold cocktail glass.

6) Also, if the bartender asks for my Bourbon preference instead of grabbing the well brand, then I figure they have some concern for what they're making.

Most bartenders in New Orleans, it seems, can't mix a Manhattan. Too often I've gotten sweet vermouth and Bourbon on the rocks. Normally, there isn't even an attempt to mix the drink. It's not a highball, but too many bartenders are unaware of this.