• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Bone marrow risotto?

infernooo

Hi everyone,

I have read through the bone marrow thread but was hoping for some thoughts on what I am planning to make tomorrow night.

Please keep in mind that I have never used bone marrow before (I am a complete newbie).

Steps beginning with a question mark I am not sure about

1.) Roast bone marrow bones for ~ 20 mins at 450 degrees. Remove and keep bones roasting at lower temperature for a bit longer then make stock out of them.

2.) In the mean time, saute some onion and garlic in butter or olive oil till soft, add arborio rice, cook a few minutes to coat with oil/butter.

? 3.) Add white wine and cook until evaporated

4.) Add stock one ladle at a time, stirring until almost ready

?5.) Chop bone marrow and pan fry/roast until browned

6.) Add bone marrow to risotto

? 5.) Add parmesan

6.) Add chopped parsley + season to taste

Any ideas? Sound OK? The reason I am not sure is I don't know how well it would pair with these ingredients or if I should use some other vegetables (asparagus?)

Thanks!