• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Do you ever get stuck in a food rut?

sharonb

I'm not one of those people who eats a certain meal on a certain day of the week, or even someone who always orders the same thing in a given restaurant, but I have one weird quirk and was wondering if I'm alone in this.

For dinner, I eat a varied range of dishes, and often not the same dish over a two or three week span.

But for lunch... I go in long-lasting phases where I eat exactly the same thing every single day. Right now, it's a smoked salmon sandwich, followed by an apple, followed by a cup of tiramisu. I've been eating this lunch, I'd say, for almost six months, with only a few diversions (going out for noodles or being invited to someone's house for the weekend...).

Am I compulsive? Am I depriving myself of a wealth of lunchtime experiences? Or are my lox sandwiches just too good to give up? (Though I should remember that there was my two fried eggs followed by pecan nuts, a while back; or the tuna salad surrounded by diced tomatoes followed by an orange tart...) I wonder when I'll switch, and what's coming next.

Can you stand the idea of eating your other ruts again? Have they been spoiled for you?

Personally, I could not do what you do. The idea of eating the exact same thing for lunch everyday bores me too much. I cannot even manage to eat the same breakfast each day, although many people do.

Also, I like to eat what's in season. Are you giving up some other fabulous fruit because of the apple?