• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

san dao cha

Naftal

I am a student of chinese tea traditions. I am familiar with gong fu cha. I have often heard of the term " san dao cha" . I am even familiar with the fact that there is a Dali and a Bai version of the san dao cha. But, what these are and how they differ, I have no idea. Does anyone know anything about these traditions, or any similar ones?

"As life's pleasures go, food is second only to sex.Except for salami and eggs...Now that's better than sex, but only if the salami is thickly sliced"--Alan King (1927-2004)

I should probably add that "san dao cha" roughly translates to "three tea set". Is that any help? Does anyone know what I am talking about?

"As life's pleasures go, food is second only to sex.Except for salami and eggs...Now that's better than sex, but only if the salami is thickly sliced"--Alan King (1927-2004)

I should probably add that "san dao cha" roughly translates to "three tea set". Is that any help? Does anyone know what I am talking about?

Sorry Naftal, I'm not that familiar with the formal Chinese tea practices, but perhaps the drinks forum would be a better place to find someone who does?

Sorry Naftal, I'm not that familiar with the formal Chinese tea practices, but perhaps the drinks forum would be a better place to find someone who does?

I know this is a tea ritual from the Dali area of the Bai minzu but that's all I can say as when we drank tea there I didn't (shamefully) take especial notice

I know this is a tea ritual from the Dali area of the Bai minzu but that's all I can say as when we drank tea there I didn't (shamefully) take especial notice