• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Charcoal Grilling Question

mtigges

I just bought a new weber grill. I have no experience cooking with charcoal. I'm planning on indirect grilling a chicken today. My question is, the book that I'm trying to learn from, by Raichlen, says that after an hour I'll need to add more "fresh coals". It's not clear to me if this means toss some more charcoal into each basket or start up a new batch in the chimney starter, and then pour those into the baskets.

Advice please? Dropping unlit charcoal into the baskets is easier, but will likely cause some acrid smoke and drop the temperature. Lighting new coals means having to remove the grill grate to pour them in to the baskets. Kind of a pain!

Thanks in advance.

Mark.

I just bought a new weber grill.  I have no experience cooking with charcoal.  I'm planning on indirect grilling a chicken today.  My question is, the book that I'm trying to learn from, by Raichlen, says that after an hour I'll need to add more "fresh coals".  It's not clear to me if this means toss some more charcoal into each basket or start up a new batch in the chimney starter, and then pour those into the baskets.

Advice please?  Dropping unlit charcoal into the baskets is easier, but will likely cause some acrid smoke and drop the temperature.  Lighting new coals means having to remove the grill grate to pour them in to the baskets.  Kind of a pain!

Thanks in advance.

Mark.

I've cooked a turkey breast this way for Thanksgiving, which went over well even with this crowd.