• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Where to buy in SE Michigan/Detroit Metro?

Linda Rose

I’m relatively new to the Detroit Metro area and have been looking for the best/cheapest places to find cookware, tableware, specialty foods….anything for the kitchen.

I’ve found Birch Run with the Le Crueset, Calphalon, and Corning/Revere outlets. I found some restaurant/food service supply houses: Gold Star on Coolidge in Oak Park, Peoples Rest. Supply on Gratiot, Williams Food Equip in Windsor(absolutely great store).

Of course there’s the Warren/Schaefer area in Dearborn for everything Middle Eastern. (We have Shatila’s baklawa shipped to friends as gifts—yum) And the Eastern Market with R. Hirt for ANY cheese. Oh, and I just found Penzey’s on 13 Mile at Southfield!

Yes, there’s Ikea, BB&B, L&T, Home Goods, Marshall’s, TJMax, like there is in most major markets.

So what have I missed? Where are the Asian and Indian connections? Are there any places you go to find inexpensive or specialty tableware that I need to see? The restaurant supply stores here seem wanting—where’s the Wal-Mart of restaurant supply?

I need a foodie shopping fix. Help me!

P.S. What about Ann Arbor...anything there? :unsure: I'm willing to travel for my fix.

Edited by Linda Rose (log)

I dimly recall that there are a couple of Indian markets in Canton, a couple of miles west of Ikea. It's been a while since I shopped there, though, so I can't speak to their quality (or even their continued existence).