• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

2004 Hermitage, Cuilleron Gaillard Villard

My husband was recently in France and brought me back a couple of bottles of wine. One of the bottles that he bought for me was a fairly expensive bottle and I want to do this bottle justice when I finally open it up to enjoy. I am a beginner when it comes to wine and have stuck with mostly wines from the okanagan area of British Columbia and therefore am unfamiliar with wines from this area.

I have done a bit of research on wines in France and understand that this wine is from the Northern Rhone region and that it is produced from the syrah grape. I have also read that they are undrinkable for years because of very high levels of tannic acid, which acts as a preservative. Thus, my first question is when will this bottle be drinkable? Also, what is this best served with? Any other information that you can offer in regards to this wine would be appreciated. I've tried searching on the internet for information about this wine and have been unsuccessful to date...

A truly destitute man is not one without riches, but the poor wretch who has never partaken of lobster. - anonymous

Can you be more specific about the wine? Cuilleron, Gaillard, and Villard are all producers from the region. And your post reads as if you have a wine labeled with the names of all three producers.

Also, Hermitage comes in both red and white. Do you know what you have?

We cannot employ the mind to advantage when we are filled with excessive food and drink - Cicero