Welcome to the eG Forums!

These forums are a service of the Society for Culinary Arts & Letters, a 501c3 nonprofit organization dedicated to advancement of the culinary arts. Anyone can read the forums, however if you would like to participate in active discussions please join the Society.

Photo

Yeast – Can you freeze it?

Bread

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 fiftydollars

fiftydollars
  • participating member
  • 891 posts

Posted 01 December 2004 - 02:54 AM

I recently took a half teaspoon from a brick of yeast that I had been storing in the freezer for a few months. Anyway, the yeast was dead. I placed it in warm water, waited 15 minutes, and nothing happened. It was totally dead. I next tried a small packet of yeast that I had also stored in the freezer and once again it was dead.

I thought that it was ok to store yeast in the freezer. I believe I heard Alton Brown say so, but all my yeast is dead although it was all well within the expiration date, and none of it had been stored in the freezer for more than a few months.

What happened?

#2 mrsadm

mrsadm
  • participating member
  • 521 posts

Posted 01 December 2004 - 04:15 AM

Yes you can freeze yeast. But as with unfrozen yeast, once in a while you get a goner.
"Did you see what Julia Child did to that chicken?" ... Howard Borden on "Bob Newhart"

#3 K8memphis

K8memphis
  • participating member
  • 2,464 posts

Posted 01 December 2004 - 07:13 AM

Wull, I've been looking for fresh yeast (in cake form) in my area of the world and not even pizza places or anything use it around here that I can find. Fresh yeast is really awesome in baked stuff and no can find. Red Star doesn't even send it to Tennessee anymore according to their web site.

sniff

#4 bkeith

bkeith
  • participating member
  • 210 posts

Posted 01 December 2004 - 08:13 AM