Welcome to the eG Forums!

These forums are a service of the Society for Culinary Arts & Letters, a 501c3 nonprofit organization dedicated to advancement of the culinary arts. Anyone can read the forums, however if you would like to participate in active discussions please join the Society.

Photo

A Tea Bread Thank You

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Porthos

Porthos
  • participating member
  • 1,198 posts

Posted 17 April 2014 - 10:20 AM

Last year Anna N posted her recipe for Tea Bread. It appealed to me because of the fact that vegans could eat this as a dessert. I've been cooking for 48 years but I am not much of a baker. My grandmother's baking powder biscuits, our family-recipe brownies, but nothing serious.

I am pleased with the baby steps I have been able to make because of this recipe, I have adapted it to be made without the overnight soak, and measure the dry ingredients by weight. I am comfortable with choosing different dried fruits and even adding seasonings to complement certain fruits. I bake them to be bar cookies.  So to Anna and everyone else that has the patience to help neophytes in baking, I say thank you.

Here is this week's effort - Raisin-Cranberry Tea Bread:

IMAG0438.jpg

• janeer and Blether like this

Porthos Potwatcher
The Unrelenting Carnivore
"If every pork chop was perfect, we wouldn't have hot dogs." (source unknown)
Customer to clerk in a clothing store, "Do you have these in a size for people who actually eat?"

#2 Anna N

Anna N
  • eGullet Society staff emeritus
  • 6,591 posts

Posted 17 April 2014 - 04:45 PM

Last year Anna N posted her recipe for Tea Bread. It appealed to me because of the fact that vegans could eat this as a dessert. I've been cooking for 48 years but I am not much of a baker. My grandmother's baking powder biscuits, our family-recipe brownies, but nothing serious.