Welcome to the eG Forums!

These forums are a service of the Society for Culinary Arts & Letters, a 501c3 nonprofit organization dedicated to advancement of the culinary arts. Anyone can read the forums, however if you would like to participate in active discussions please join the society.

Photo

Bellota Jamon Iberico Bones

Spanish

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 haribos

haribos
  • participating member
  • 9 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 05:51 PM

So I was able to get my hands on the bones of two bellota jamon iberico legs. But being an at home chef, i dont have a stock pot that big. Will chopping it into pieces affect the stock because of the marrow? Any suggestions on using these bones? Thanks!

#2 Kent Wang

Kent Wang
  • eGullet Society staff emeritus
  • 2,395 posts

Posted 30 November 2010 - 12:36 AM

I did this very thing. I did chop the bones, and I'm not sure if it affected the flavor; my guess would be that it was minimal. But the stock was so rich it would've covered up anything.

Be sure to skim the fat that collects on top. It's very tasty but I find that you can't use it in large amounts because it has an odd astringent effect.

#3 budrichard

budrichard
  • participating member
  • 1,710 posts

Posted 30 November 2010 - 01:45 PM

"Any suggestions on using these bones? "

Garbage, that's where mine went.-Dick

#4 Shalmanese

Shalmanese
  • participating member
  • 3,520 posts

Posted 30 November 2010 - 08:05 PM

Why not roast the marrow, then make a stock from the roasted bones? Best of both worlds.
PS: I am a guy.

#5 helenjp

helenjp
  • eGullet Society staff emeritus
  • 3,232 posts

Posted 01 December 2010 - 04:38 AM

spanish style pea soup? (With dried split peas, tomato and onion? We just had some for dinner, and I wish we'd had a spare ham bone or so to cook with it!

#6 Obese-Wan Kenobi

Obese-Wan Kenobi
  • participating member
  • 112 posts

Posted 01 December 2010 - 05:53 AM