• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Recommend a Cookbook for Me...

Jisho

With inspiration from eGullet and others, I have decided that I would like to 'get back into' cooking. I have spent a long time doing the most simple and unimaginative cuisine I could get away with, for the sake of convenience, or I eat out quite a bit. I used to cook a lot more, 5-6 years ago, but simply fell into the busy life rut.

In order for the recommendation to mean something, I'll give you something of a background as to where I am:

I'm a self-trained cook, mostly from growing up engrossed in cooking shows, and reading basic cook books that I come into contact with. I have a diverse palate, and appreciate a wide variety of international foods. However, I have limited exposure to 'haute cuisine', and because I'm not exactly Daddy Warbucks, limited exposure to fine cuisine in general, so when it comes to cooking high-end food, I lack a depth of tasting to compare.

On the other hand, I'm creative and passionate in the kitchen when I take the time to make something. I can take dinners intended to be simple and introduce spice and complexity pretty successfully, as far as my family is concerned. I'm familiar with a great deal of food, with food pairings, and to be honest, often times my creativity exceeds my talent. Sure, it's nice to know you can braise this or that, poach another thing, and sauce it thusly, and it would be tasty, but it's entirely another to execute it yourself. I pay attention to a lot of the science of cooking and spend quite a bit of time researching "why"?