• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

The science of cooking rice...

hzrt8w

In another online forum, people are describing a way of cooking rice without any measurement. It said: no matter how much rice you want to cook, just pour the rice in, and pour in enough water to cover the top of the rice and then some. Put your index finger straight down, with the finger tip just touching the rice. The water level should be filled up to the first knuckle of your finger. Your rice would come out nicely, no matter how much rice you cook.

I have been thinking of the implication of this instruction, and have always been wondering why it would work. I am a student of science. This method does not seem very scientific for me. For any kind of chemical process:

If I use 1 cup of X and mix it with 1 cup of Y to produce Z, then

If I use 2 cups of X, I should mix it with 2 cups of Y.

The above mentioned method seems to entirely violate the laws of physics/chemistry. It said I can use this method on a 4-person rice cooker or on a 500-person cooker like those in the kitchen onboard an aircraft carrier.

Is there a scientific explanation on why it would work? My attempted theory: that water would "fill in the space between rice grains"? So no matter how many rice grains you have, the water would fill in the space between the grains so the ratio is more or less constant?

W.K. Leung ("Ah Leung") aka "hzrt8w"