• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Pacojet or ice cream maker ?

chefadamg

Hello everyone:

Looking for opinions on a Pacojet. I work as a private chef (for a couple in NYC) I'm in the market for a high end counter top ice cream maker...then I thought "how about a pacojet"?? Does the Pacojet work for ice cream? (I'm assuming it doesn't)

The other question I have w/ regards to the Pacojet, is it easy to use for large parties? i.e. if I have a dinner party of 20, can I easily turn out a sorbet course?

I have a feeling the best choice would be, to have both a high end ice cream maker AND a Pacojet?

In the restaurants I've worked we had both and generally used both for ice cream and sorbets (spin in ice cream machine, freeze in paco containers, and respin in paco at service for texture). That said, if I were only getting one I would pass on the paco, especially if you need to do larger batches and may not have access to a very cold freezer.

I don't have any direct experience with a pacojet myself, but I have spoken to cooks in other restaurants who use one. From what I've read/heard that understand I've come to have is that the major difference between it and a regular ice cream maker is that the technology allows for a major change in ingredient proportions.

For example, if you go to their website you'll see them advertise about making pineapple sorbet with just pineapple. Supposedly, all you have to do is cut up the pineapple, freeze it for atleast 24 hours at -20 F and then "pacojet" at which point it is ready to serve or go into storage into a slightly warmer (-10F) freezer until one is ready to serve.