• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Staging Etiquette

LittleIsland

I'm a novice home/hobby baker but have been offered an invaluable opportunity to "help out", without pay, in the baking and pastry kitchen of a 5-star hotel here, to pick up some knowledge. I'm quite over-the-moon about it!

So I've found out from this forum that this is called "staging" - is it called the same when the person doing it is totally inexperienced?

Anyway I wanted to get some tips and advice on what I should and should not be doing in terms of etiquette and good form - of course want to be truly helpful/useful and at the same time learn as much as I can, but also don't want to :angry: -off the PC through gaucheness and getting underfoot. It's always good to be prepared and know what to expect.

Well, for starters, since you learned about it online, I wanted to be sure you know it's pronounced stahj, stahjing, like the ahh, when you say ahh for the doctor to look at your throat. Not stage like stagecoach.

Please come back & tell all about it. Can you say which hotel???

And edited to say: total congratulations too

Edited by K8memphis (log)

Being a recent culinary school graduate I have staged (also called shadowing, or trailing) at many restaurants, bakeries, chocolate shops, and hotels. Being a home bakery you do have some experience and it sounds like you have the passion, which is what a lot of chefs look for. A lot of experience doesnt always grant you or put you ahead when getting a job, commonly its the passion and the desire that put you ahead of the game.