• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Starting a Chocolate Business - Any suggestions

Truffle Guy

It's hard to believe only about 15 months ago I saw the "Chocolates with that Showroom Finish" thread and my life would take a turn. I had been dabbling in truffles (hence the name) for a few years but after seeing Norman Love's "G" series and then the thread, I was hooked.

A little background on me might help. I was a dot.comer in the late 90's through about 2001. I learned a lot in building businesses from new concepts and it was an exciting time. I co-founded one company and was a Director in another technology company that was in the USA Today as a "can't miss" business. We must have been part of that 5% error margin as we did miss. However, I do believe you learn more from failure than victory and I emerged with new skills and new experiences.