• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Dordogne, St. Emilion Trip Report

mukki

Since I just started learning how to post pictures here, I thought I'd post a brief report on the trip we took to Bordeaux, the Dordogne and Paris last October/November.

After landing in Paris, we took a 4 hour (!) TGV ride (I didn't realize this is the route with several stops along the way) to Bordeaux, where we rented a car and stopped for a night in St. Emilion. Since it was my birthday, we had dinner at the Hostellerie de Plaisance (where we also stayed), which hosts a Michelin 1 star restaurant.

Hostellerie de Plaisance:

gallery_10136_2514_55124.jpg

Dinner included the house specialty: lasagne of foie gras with wild mushrooms and truffle emulsion (I'm quoting Michelin here).

gallery_10136_2514_17436.jpg

Some other highlights included an oyster:

gallery_10136_2514_20893.jpg

Lobster in an Asian-inspired broth:

gallery_10136_2514_28834.jpg

Cheese course:

gallery_10136_2514_119881.jpg

Mignardises (canneles, coffee-based dessert, and passionfruit caramel):

gallery_10136_2514_19100.jpg

The next day we wandered around St. Emilion, which is often called the prettiest village in Bordeaux.

gallery_10136_2514_61108.jpg

We bought some wine to be shipped home (at a surprisingly reasonable price) and ate some canneles.

gallery_10136_2514_12968.jpg

We then drove to the Dordogne, where we stayed near the medieval village of Beynac in a B&B called Residence Versailles:

gallery_10136_2514_306879.jpg

Beynac, with the Dordogne River in the distance:

gallery_10136_2514_20983.jpg